The British Talent Cup will move into its second year in 2019 and the rider line up has now been confirmed. A number of riders have moved on leaving a core of 12 from the inaugural season plus eleven new names.

Elliot Pinson has been chosen from those successful in the selection event. He has already had one ride in the British Talent Cup after Fenton Seabright had to sit out a race whilst injured. The 15-year-old is a former Team Green Junior Cup title winner. In 2018 he finished third just 49 points behind the championship winner in the Dickies Junior Supersport Championship, collecting four race wins on the way.

Osian Jones raced his first season of standard class Moto3 for Wilson racing in 2018. Unable to start the season because of his age his first race was the Knockhill round. The thirteen-year-old showed great progress throughout the season. His season ended with a fantastic sixth place in the final race of the season in dreadful conditions.

Jamie Lyons from Omagh will join fellow irish rider Rhys Irwin. Although racing since he was seven, the youngster has only been racing on circuits for two years. Prior to that he was competing successfully in motocross. He won every round of the Junior Cup in Ireland finishing on 500 points. He also won the Fans choice Rider of the year for his efforts.

Edward O’Shea is the youngest rider in the series, at just 11-years-old. He has already managed to finish fifth in the Cool FAB Racing MiniGP50 British Championship. He has also raced on a GP70 in the British Minibike series, a race in which he took the victory.

William Lathrope from Portishead finished sixth in the Dickies British Junior Supersport class of BSB last season. He stood on the podium at Snetterton on his way to a tally of 166 points for the year. Lathrope will compete on a CBR500 with Honda support in the class again in 2019. He has been in the BSB paddock for a number of years. He previously competed in the KTM British Junior Cup in 2016 and 2017. He finished sixth in the first season missing out on the World KTM Cup final by just four points.

Although British, Torin Collins lives and races out in Canada. He races in the Edmonton Motorcycle Racing Association and The Canadian Motorcycle Association (CMA). In 2017 he won the CMA Mini Road Racing title for Spec Supersport, Formula Supersport, Formula Thunder, Spec Motard, Formula GP and Spec under 21 categories. He won two titles in the EMRA series in 2018.

British Talent Cup riders 2019

Photo: Dorna Sports

12-year-old Corey Tinker has been riding an Aprilia in the Thundersport GP3 series competing against the more powerful 4-strokes. His brother Kyal Tinker also races in the championship.

Harry Leigh took the Superteens title in the Thundersport championship in 2018. His total of 647 points put him 49 points ahead of his nearest rival. Leigh, who rode for Hopkins Racing, took 17 wins during the season.

The Wizard, Zak Shelton won the JSM140 class and MGP140 class of the British Minibikes championships. The 14-year-old from Mansfield also spent some time at the Ron Haslam Race School this season where he tried out a Honda CB500. He has only been racing for a couple of years but has clearly already shown some ability.

We spoke to Ross Maguire not so long ago. He obtained some Moto3 standard bike experience this year when he did a wildcard for Banks Racing. The Scottish rider competed in his home event at Knockhill and then again at the final round at Brands Hatch. Maguire took the AC40 Pro British title in 2017 before his move to the larger bikes in 2018 saw him successful conquer all three Scottish 125cc titles.

George Hopper is a former British Youth Grasstrack champion. He is also a double British minibike champion. In 2017 he held his nerve to take the Junior SM140 title by a single point. Last season he finished 8th in the Superteens GP3 championship.

Congratulations to all of these riders who will join: Jack Nixon, Scott Ogden, Charlie Atkins, Brian Hart, Jack Hart, Harvey Claridge, Rhys Irwin, Jamie Davis, Charlie Farrer, Scott Swann, Fenton Seabright and Cameron Horsman in the 2019 British Talent Cup.