Yuki Kunii was just one corner from a double victory at the Ricardo Tormo circuit but compatriot Ryusei Yamanaka took his first Moto3 Junior World Championship race victory. Daniel Holgado, in his first Moto3 JWC race weekend, completed the podium.

Kunii got air underneath his front wheel as the riders launched from the start line. The result was that Deniz Öncü took the holeshot as he did in the first race. Jeremy Alcoba briefly held second spot before the Japanese rider came through.

We lost British rider, Max Cook, early on in the race when another rider fell, collecting Max Cook and another in the process.

Even more surprising was the loss of Deniz Öncü for the second time this weekend. He had a vicious high-side with 17 laps remaining. The bike bucked and weaved and threw him off. One of the championship favourites he has now failed to finish all three races this season.

Two breakaway

Initially, seven riders in the leading group became two again. This time Kunii was being chased by Yamanaka. More than a second behind was a group of seven riders with just one podium place to fight for.

Kunii looked comfortable in the lead but so too did Yamanaka, who sat on the back wheel of the number 33 lap after lap. On the final corner of the last lap, Yamanaka made his move. He managed to squeeze down the inside of Kunii and race on to take the victory.

There was a fantastic performance from Daniel Holgado. This was his first weekend in the championship and having come from the European Talent Cup in 2018 he was straight on the pace. He set the fastest lap in race 2.

Victor Rodriguez came across the line in 15th for the LaGlisse Acadamy.

Moto3 JWC Valencia April 2019 Race 2 Result

Pos. Rider Time/Gap Points
1 YAMANAKA, Ryusei 30:20.294 25
2 KUNII, Yuki 00:00.252 20
3 HOLGADO; Daniel 00:03.868 16
4 ARTIGAS, Xavier 00:03.910 13
5 VIU, Aleix 00:04.207 11
6 ALCOBA, Jeremy 00:04.624 10
7 BALTUS, Barry 00:04.807 9
8 PIZZOLI, Davide 00:05.172 8
9 NEPA, Stefano* 00:07.611 7
10 GARCIA, José 00:21.012 6
11 NOGUCHI, Haruki 00:24.690 5
12 FERNANDEZ, Adrián 00:24.745 4
13 BERTELLE, Matteo 00:25.206 3
14 SALVADOR, David* 00:27.662 2
15 RODRIGUEZ, Victor 00:32.897 1
  • 3 second time penalty for exceeding track limits